Registration is now open.

DISCiPLES VIRTUAL GATHERING



About this Event

The Disciples Virtual Gathering is an opportunity for Disciples to connect, learn, worship, and imagine new ways of gathering as church.

Our day together will focus on the covenant we share as Disciples and the promise of Romans 8:38-39 that nothing can separate us from the love of God. The program will consist of bible lectures, educational workshops, and worship service, with invited speakers and presenters focusing on our theme.

Explore this site to learn more and register today!

Schedule

11:00am ET 8:00am PT

Gathering and Welcome

The gathering begins with words of welcome, music, and a brief orientation to the virtual meeting space.

11:15am ET 8:15am PT

Bible Study

Disciples scholars Yolanda Norton and Eric Smith will offer reflections on our theme and focus scripture, followed by Q and A from participants.

Two
Sessions

Workshops

Interactive learning opportunities from general ministry leaders and other ministry partners.


Session 1: 2:00pm ET | 11:00am PT
Session 2: 3:30pm ET | 12:30pm PT

Pre-registration is not needed for workshops. Attendees will select workshops on the day of the event.

6:30pm ET 3:30pm PT

Worship Service

Featuring a roll call of regions and General Minister and President Terri Hord Owens preaching.

OUR SPEAKERS

Yolanda Norton

Rev. Yolanda M. Norton is the founder and executive director of the Global Arts and Theology Experience (GATE). She has a long commitment to justice, especially as it relates to women and children, and she is excited about the possibilities for what God is doing in and through Black women in this season. GATE is borne out of her creation of the Beyonce Mass, which has been featured in Essence, the New York Times, and HBO’s VICE.

Eric Smith

Rev. Dr. Eric C. Smith is Assistant Professor of Early Christianity and Contemporary Christian Practices at the lliff School of Theology and Teaching Minister at First Plymouth Congregational Church (UCC) in Denver, Colorado. He is the author of several books and articles, most recently Paul the Progressive: The Compassionate Christian’s Guide to Reclaiming the Apostle as an Ally (Chalice 2019).

Terri Hord Owens

Rev. Teresa “Terri” Hord Owens currently serves as the General Minister & President of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the United States and Canada. She is the second woman and the first person of color to serve in this position. Terri believes that we must be the church we say are: a movement for wholeness in a fragmented world, welcoming all to the Lord’s table as God has welcomed us; an anti-racist, pro-reconciling church; and ultimately, bear witness to the limitless love of God.

Our Sponsors

The Disciples Virtual Gathering is made possible through Disciples Mission Fund and the general ministries of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), with additional support from: